The second annual University of Montana High School Journalism Day was bustling with kids from around the state on Thursday. A raise in attendance was seen from last year, when the University’s School of Journalism first started up the event for high school journalists to not only learn from college professors, but get recognized for their work. Students attended classes in topics including press freedom, writing, reporting, videography and photojournalism. Journalism adviser Beth Britton and English/video teacher Brian Crosby accompanied the 14 students to Missoula. The staff of the Stampede along with a few members of the Russellog were present, representing both Great Falls and CMR. Many awards were won in a number of categories as follows:

High School Journalist of the Year: Peyton Fulbright

Newspaper Design: The Stampede (first)

Pacesetter: The Stampede (second)

Enterprise Reporting: The Stampede (second)

Sports Events Coverage: Olivia Rudio (first)

Sports Feature: Peyton Fulbright (third)

News Writing: Peyton Fulbright (first)

Editorial Cartoon: Shannon O’Neil (first)

Feature Writing: Shannon O’Neil and Elea Roberts (second)

Website: The Stampede/Tony Lynes/ (second)

Photo Illustration: Peyton Fulbright (second and third)

Feature Photography: Peyton Fulbright (first)

News Photography: Peyton Fulbright (second)

Sports Feature Photography: Peyton Fulbright (first)

Sports Photography: Peyton Fulbright (first)

Ad Design: Jaylynn Mitchell (second)